I want

Standard

I want knowledge,

lots of it,

but not the usual kind,

I want to read books,

all of them,

so much that I become a fountain,

brimming with bookish knowledge,

out in the open, for all the world to see,

shinning in the sun,

twinkling in the night.

I want my mind to jump on the stars,

dance on the moon,

sleep on the clouds,

float on the oceans,

and myself to be like the air,

though never seen,

but always felt.

borrowing a verse from one of my favorite songs,

“I want to live simply,”

read and re-read and re-re-read books,

write them,

write poetry,

feel the words,

running through my veins,

squeezing my heart,

overwhelming me.

I want not to be governed by the norms of the society,

nor men,

not even myself,

none but my dear Allah,

the one and only.

Share your thoughts. I love to hear them.

